The Holy Grail of Highlighters for Brown Skin

It can be a challenge trying to make certain makeup trends work for brown skin. I am mixed (African American and Caucasian) and have had trouble finding the perfect red lipstick (not too orange), a nude lip color (I’m sorry but I still think this is impossible), and a highlighter that works for my skin color without making me look like I fell face first into a sparkly bag of flour. That was until I found The Holy Grail, the best highlighter there is: Nars’ Multiple in the shade South Beach. Nars’ Multiples are chubby sticks of awesomeness that can be used as blush, eye color, to contour, or if you’re like me in this situation, as a highlighter. They are a little pricey (around $40 a pop), but I use so little for my purposes that this baby will probably last me a decade give or take. ari picIf you’re unfamiliar with the benefits of using a highlighter, they are great because they give you an ethereal glow that makes your skin look fresh and makes your makeup stand out. In my opinion, having an outstanding highlighter is a great way to complete your face – especially in sunnier seasons like Spring and Summer. To apply: simply give our cheekbones a quick swipe and blend lightly with your finger. You don’t want it to look too harsh because then you look like a unicorn or fairy. You can also dab a little onto your finger and apply a bit to your nose, cupid’s bow, and right between your eyebrows. Again, a little goes a long way and you don’t want to overdo it. So give this color a try! It’s great for tan to brown skin because it doesn’t have a white pigment in the product. This shade would also be a gorgeous bronzer on any shade of skin, so don’t shy away from it if you are lighter skinned!

Featured Image Photo Credit to ivoryandolive.com

Leave a Reply

